Bruce H. Leland Essay Contest

English 100, Introduction to Writing

1 st Place	Martina Rodgers
2 nd Place	Robin Jackson
3 rd Place	Gianna Russo

English 180, College Writing I

0	/ 0 0
1st Place	Geoff Norfleet
2 nd Place	Cody Brant
3 rd Place	Jennifer Shackelford

English 280, College Writing II

1 st Place	Di
2 nd Place	Ar
3 rd Place	Ja

Diana Lozowska Amber Simmons Jackson Courter



WESTERN ILLINOIS UNIVERSITY

Western Illinois University

Spring 2010 Awards Night

Department of English & Journalism

Wednesday, April 28, 2010 4:30 p.m.

Multicultural Center Activity Room

Department Scholarships

Scholar of the Year Award Kaley Rowe

Barbara and John Blackburn Scholarship James Taylor

Paul Blackford British Literature Scholarship Nicole Raddatz

Olive Fite American Literature Scholarship Caitlin Barrett

Irving Garwood Scholarship Matthew Hamilton

Lila S. Linder English Scholarship Eric Anerino Paige Brinkmann

Alfred J. Lindsey Memorial Scholarship Christine Jach

John Merrett Scholarship in British Literature Jessica Scadden

Nai-Tung Ting English Scholarship Jessica Morton

Wanninger Foundation Scholarship Adam Brown

Journalism Awards

Best in-Class Writing in Journalism

1 st Place	Ed Komenda
2 nd Place	Corvales Grant
3 rd Place	Marquita Berry

Best In-Class Graphics Work in Journalism

1 st Place	Tim Stathis
2 nd Place	Melissa Ballano
3 rd Place	Kaley Rowe

Creative Writing Awards

Cordell Larner Award : Fiction 1st Place Jeremy Jasper 2nd Place Mark Piekos 3rd Place **R**van Roby Lois C. Bruner Literary Nonfiction Award 1st Place **Juliene Soltwisch** 2nd Place Matthew Hamilton 3rd Place Jeremy Jasper Cordell Larner Award: Poetry 1st Place **Dustin Burnaugh** 2nd Place Adam Brown 3rd Place Kyle Furlane

Graduate Awards

Syndy M. Conger Essay Award Jessica Morton

Ron and Leslie Walker Graduate Fellowships Jessica Morton (Writing Studies) Christopher Rose (Literary Studies)