Bruce H. Leland Essay Contest

English 100, Introduction to Writing1st PlaceAlex J. Crivolio2nd PlaceDonovan Lowry3rd PlaceMadeline Swanson

English 180, College Writing I

1st Place 2nd Place 3rd Place

Tyler A. Gordon Jackson Courter William Steele

English 280, College Writing II

1st Place 2nd Place 3rd Place

Michael Pearce Keri Plica Jamese Carrell



Nestern I^{llinois} University

> Spring 2009 Awards Night

Department of English & Journalism

Thursday, April 23, 2009 6:00 p.m.

University Writing Center 343 Simpkins Hall

Department Scholarships

- Paul Blackford British Literature Scholarship Quinn Bilyeu Tiffany Shoufler
- Olive Fite American Literature Scholarship Jeri Adams
- Irving Garwood Scholarship Rebecca Eineke
- Lila S. Linder English Scholarship Eric Anerino Kathleen McGowan
- Alfred J. Lindsey Memorial Scholarship Rebecca Eineke
- John Merrett Scholarship in British Literature Caitlin Barrett
- Beth M. Stiffler Memorial Scholarship Kristin Dragos
- Nai-Tung Ting English Scholarship Nan Norcross

Wanninger Foundation Scholarship Julia Mackert

Department English & Journalism Scholar of the Year Award Glenna Sabo

Journalism Awards

Best In-Class Writing in Journalism

1st Place 2nd Place 3rd Place Tyler Vogler Erin McCarthy Harrison Jones

Best In-Class Graphics Work in Journalism

1st Place 2nd Place 3rd Place Morgan Boese-Lemm Cornetta Pickens Lauren Perring

Graduate Awards

- Syndy M. Conger Essay Award Emily Brackman
- John Mahoney Research Fellowship Andrew Hoogheem Travis Moran Tracey Winbigler
- Ron and Leslie Walker Graduate Fellowships Writing Studies: Michael Baumann Literary Studies: Travis Moran